The last of the charming covered bridges in Fayette County, Longwood Bridge now resides in Roberts Park in Connersville. Built in 1884, it sat over Williams Creek about 4 miles west of town for a century until the community rallied to move and preserve it.
Longwood Bridge was constructed by Emmett and Charles Kennedy, whose family also built several covered bridges in Rush County. It’s a 97’ single-span, Burr Arch truss structure. It was built with only 2 kingposts set 10 feet apart – a nontraditional design choice - and is supported at both ends by stone abutments.
The roof protected the wooden trusses from damaging rain, snow, and ice. Designed for the weight of horses and wagons in the late 1800s, covered bridges later carried much heavier cars, trucks, and tractors. As they aged, they were replaced by steel and concrete structures that could handle wider farm equipment and heavier loads.
While you’re in the park, enjoy a picnic lunch. Stroll through and see the Art in the Park exhibits; play tennis, basketball, or pickleball; or watch the squirrels. There are two playgrounds and a community swimming pool. There is no charge to explore the park; the pool has an admission fee